<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>michaelkrol.com &#187; Security</title>
	<atom:link href="http://michaelkrol.com/category/security/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://michaelkrol.com</link>
	<description>A Web Developer's Blog Highlighting Open Source and OS X</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Mon, 22 Mar 2010 18:01:20 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.9.2</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>Nettica &#8217;safeguard.php&#8217; Hoax</title>
		<link>http://michaelkrol.com/2007/02/15/nettica-safeguardphp-hoax/</link>
		<comments>http://michaelkrol.com/2007/02/15/nettica-safeguardphp-hoax/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Thu, 15 Feb 2007 18:35:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Michael</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[General]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Security]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://michaelkrol.com/?p=12</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This morning I received an email hoax purporting to be from Nettica, our DNS provider. Details aren&#8217;t clear yet on what it&#8217;s intent was (the attached file was encrypted, which we&#8217;re working on decrypting), but I&#8217;ll post an update as soon as we figure it out. We&#8217;re working with Nettica Support to find out what&#8217;s ]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This morning I received an email hoax purporting to be from Nettica, our DNS provider. Details aren&#8217;t clear yet on what it&#8217;s intent was (the attached file was encrypted, which we&#8217;re working on decrypting), but I&#8217;ll post an update as soon as we figure it out. We&#8217;re working with Nettica Support to find out what&#8217;s going on.</p>
<p>The email instructions appear to be referencing a Plesk installation.</p>
<p>Here&#8217;s a copy of the email that was sent in case anyone else receives it:</p>
<hr />Dear Nettica Inc. valued MembersRegarding our new security regulations, as a part of our yearly maintenance we have provided a security guard script in the attachment.So, to secure your websites, please use the attached file and (for UNIX/Linux Based servers) upload the file &#8220;safeguard.php&#8221; in: &#8220;./public_html&#8221; or (for Windows Based servers) in: &#8220;./wwwroot&#8221; in your site.If you do not know how to use it, you can use the following instruction:For Unix/Linux or Windows based websites that use PHP/CGI/PERL/ASP:<br />
1) Download the attachment named &#8220;safeguard.php&#8221;<br />
2) Login to your site Control panel.<br />
3) Open &#8220;File Manager&#8221; window.<br />
4) Go through &#8220;Public_html&#8221; or &#8220;htdocs&#8221; (for UNIX/Linux Based servers), but for Windows Based server, please Go through &#8220;wwwroot&#8221; directory.<br />
5) Choose &#8220;Upload Files&#8221;<br />
6) Upload the file &#8220;safeguard.php&#8221;<br />
7) Check its URL too &#8220;http://www.yoursite.com/safeguard.php&#8221;, if it is okThank you for using our services and products. We look forward to providing you with a unique and high quality service.</p>
<p>Best Regards</p>
<p>Nettica Inc.</p>
<hr />[UPDATE] Nettica has added a post about this <a href="http://news.nettica.com/2007/02/customer-alert-spoofed-emails.html" title="Nettica Hoax" target="_blank">on their blog</a> as well.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://michaelkrol.com/2007/02/15/nettica-safeguardphp-hoax/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
